Return to Headlines

Student and Staff Achievements - April 17, 2023

Omaha Public Schools is pleased to recognize the following staff and students for their academic, extracurricular and professional achievements.

  • Bryan High Principal Rony Ortega, Ed.D., for being named the 2023 Nebraska Cultural Unity Conference Educator of the Year from the University of Nebraska at Kearney.
  • Burke High student Charles McGovern for creating the winning design for the RV-12 airplane built by Aviation Nation.
  • Jane McGill of Central High for receiving the 2023 Student Journalist Impact Award from the Journalism Education Association and Quill and Scroll.
  • Central High students who received the Metro Youth Forward Scholarship:
    • Tajah Davis
    • TyVelle Foster
    • Jaheem Medley
    • Karma Brown
    • Heaven Moore
    • Heaven Newson
    • Darrelle Bonam, Jr.
    • Mark Davis
    • Xavier Barlow
    • Ja'Kobe Barnes
    • Saliyah Davis
    • Alicia Mendoza
    • Jocelyn Montalvo